Victory for the Titan Arum

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Victory.”

image

Victory in the right time and place. These flower very rarely, decades can pass between flowering.

Titan Arum

Amorphophallus titanum

Rare and one of the largest flowers in the world they can reach 10 feet, this was taken at Kew Gardens.
I included the people to give it some perspective. It has a very unpleasant fragrance like rotten meat and fish.
Italian botanist Odoardo Beccari discovered the Titan Arum in Sumatra in 1878. He sent seeds to England’s Royal Botanic Gardens in Kew, where the first bloom of this species in cultivation occurred in 1889.

About jess1896

I have been taking photos for 10 years. I hope you like this selection. Please remember that all these photos are copyrighted and protected from reproduction. They may be used providing reference is given. Thank you for being considerate. Jess.
Quote | This entry was posted in Photo. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Victory for the Titan Arum

  1. I’ve heard of this flower but never seen it. I guess I’m glad to enjoy it without having to smell it. I thought at first it was made of glass or something. :-)

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jess1896 says:

    Thanks Janet, I was glad that I got to see it before lunch as there was a long wait to get close and that was enough😱 Cheers Jess.

    Like

  3. jules says:

    Wow. Never seen one. I was in Kew just last month too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

